

American Urological Association

Board of Directors

Scott K. Swanson, MD, FACS

President, 5/19/2020 - 9/13/2021



Scott K. Swanson, MD is a consultant in the Department of Urology at Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, Arizona. He was the first urologist on the staff of 42 physicians when Mayo Clinic opened in Arizona in 1987. Dr. Swanson is an Associate Professor of Urology in the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science and was the first chair of the urology department from 1987 - 2002. He earned a bachelor's degree at the U.S. Air Force Academy and graduated magna cum laude. Dr. Swanson earned his medical degree at Tulane University School of Medicine, completed a surgical internship at Wilford Hall USAF Medical Center in Texas and a residency in the Department of Urology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. He was a chief resident in his last year.

Dr. Swanson served in the U.S. Air Force from 1971 - 1987. He has received numerous honors and awards, including being selected as Distinguished Mayo Educator in 2001. He has a broad and distinguished record of service to Mayo Clinic, including serving as chair of Mayo Clinic Office of Brand Management, director of Medical Education, vice-chair and member of the Board of Governors, chair of the Surgical Council, chair of the Department of Urology and chair of Mayo Clinic Arizona Regional Practice. Dr. Swanson was the founding program director for the Arizona Board of Urology Residency Program and the first associate medical director for the Department of Development.

Dr. Swanson served as the president of the AUA Western Section from 2006 - 2007 and has served on that Executive Board for many years. He served as chair of the AUA Audit Committee, search committees and as a member of the Finance Committee. Dr. Swanson specializes in urologic oncology, laparoscopic surgery, urinary tract reconstruction and minimally invasive and major stone surgery. He has published numerous articles in peer-reviewed journals, including The Journal of Urology, the British Journal of Urology and Urology. He has been a member of the AUA since 1987.