

NATIONAL AEROSPACE AWARDS

Award and Recipients

H. H. Arnold Award

Most significant contribution by a military member to national defense

Gen. Douglas M. Fraser, USAF (Ret.), Former Commander, US Southern Command

W. Stuart Symington Award

Most significant contribution by a civilian in the field of national defense

Honorable Michael B. Donley, Former Secretary of the Air Force

John R. Alison Award

Most outstanding contribution by industrial leadership to national defense

X-51A WaveRider Program

David C. Schilling Award

Outstanding contribution in advancing flight activity

93rd Air Refueling Squadron, Fairchild AFB, Wash.

Theodore von Karman Award

Outstanding contribution in science and engineering

The Aerospace Corp., El Segundo, Calif.

Gill Robb Wilson Award

Outstanding contribution in arts and letters

Richard P. Hallion

Hoyt S. Vandenberg Award

Outstanding contribution in aerospace education

The USA Science and Engineering Festival

Thomas P. Gerrity Award

Outstanding contribution in systems and logistics

Lt. Col. Eduardo A. Quero, 86th Logistics Readiness Sq., Ramstein AB, Germany

Department of Veterans Affairs Employee of the Year

Outstanding performance by VA employee

Lauren Incontrera, Women Veterans Program Manager, VA Hudson Valley Health Care System, Montrose, N.Y.

Gen. George C. Kenney Award

Outstanding contribution in lessons learned

Warhawk Team, 4th Air Support Operations Sq., Wiesbaden Army Airfield, Germany

Lt. Gen. Claire L. Chennault Award

Outstanding aerial warfare tactician

Capt. Beau E. Diers, 55th Fighter Sq., Shaw AFB, S.C.

Gen. Larry D. Welch Award

Outstanding contribution toward the nuclear mission

Lt. Col. David M. Franklin, 532nd Training Sq., Vandenberg AFB, Calif.

CMSAF Thomas N. Barnes Award

Most outstanding crew chief in the Air Force

SSgt. Jason S. Williams, 4th Aircraft Maintenance Sq., Seymour Johnson AFB, N.C.

Gen. Billy Mitchell Award for C4 Excellence

Outstanding contribution toward warfighting capability

SMSgt. Jose G. Cruz, National Reconnaissance Office, Chantilly, Va.

AFA Chairman's Aerospace Education Award

Long-term commitment to aerospace education, making a significant impact nationwide

The Civil Air Patrol

PROFESSIONAL, CIVILIAN, MANAGEMENT, AND ENVIRONMENTAL AWARDS

Award and Recipients

AFMC Management Award—Executive Division: Janet Tremelling, ICBM Flight Systems Division, Hill AFB, Utah

AFMC Management Award—Junior Division*: Capt. Jason S. Henderson, Medium Altitude UAS Division, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio

AFMC Management Award—Middle Division*: AMaj. Jason D. Webb, Minuteman III SRM Modernization Program Manager, Hill AFB, Utah

AFROTC Cadet of the Year: Cadet Justin M. Ignacio, Det. 028, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

CAP Aerospace Education Cadet of the Year: Cadet Maj. Jeremy A. King, Winter Haven, Fla.

Chaplain Corps Award: Capt. Chad A. Bellamy, 421st Air Base Group, RAF Menwith Hill, UK

Civilian Program Manager of the Year*: Casey D. Sherman, ICBM Fuze Replacement Program, Hill AFB, Utah

Civilian Program Specialist of the Year*: Special Agent Ryan D. Schilcher, Air Force Office of Special Investigations, JB Andrews, Md.

Civilian Senior Manager of the Year: Gina M. Lavender, Deputy Commander, 436th Civil Engineer Sq., Dover AFB, Del.

Civilian Wage Employee of the Year*: Brandon J. Bozeman, 315th Aircraft Maintenance Sq., JB Charleston, S.C.

Gen. E. W. Rawlings Environmental Award— Mgmt.*: Not awarded

Gen. E. W. Rawlings Environmental Award— Tech.*: Not awarded

Joan Orr Award for Air Force Spouse of the Year: Sonya R. Cage, Naples, Italy

Juanita Redmond Award for Nursing: 1st Lt. Agnes F. Liem, 87th Medical Operations Sq., JB McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, N.J.

Paul W. Myers Award for Physicians: Lt. Col. Chad M. Hivnor, Medical Specialties Sq., JBSA-Lackland, Tex.

Stuart R. Reichart Award for Lawyers: James R. Van Orsdol, International Law Division, Hq. US Air Forces in Europe-Air Forces Africa

Verne Orr Award for Human Resources: Total Force Initiative 22nd (Active)/931st (AFRC) Operations Support Sq., McConnell AFB, Kan.

^{*}Presented at recipient's location



Air Force Association Chairman of the Board George Muellner (left) presented the W. Stuart Symington Award for most significant contribution by a civilian in the field of national defense to former USAF Secretary Michael Donley.



The Gen. H. H. Arnold Award for most significant contribution by a military member to national defense was presented to retired Gen. Douglas Fraser, a former commander of US Southern Command.

AFA LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Recognizing a lifetime of work in the advancement of aerospace.

Maj. Gen. Joe H. Engle, USAF (Ret.)

Engle flew more than 185 different types of aircraft, logging nearly 15,000 flying hours. As an astronaut, he also accumulated 224 hours in space. He was the only person to have flown two different winged space vehicles—the X-15 and the space shuttle—when he retired from active service in 1986, after which he served in the Air National Guard.

Rep. Sam Johnson (R-Tex.)

Johnson ranks among the few members of Congress to have fought in combat. During 29 years in the Air Force, he flew combat missions in both the Korean and Vietnam Wars, receiving two Silver Stars and one Bronze Star Medal with Valor, among numerous other awards. He endured nearly seven years as a POW in Hanoi. Following his military career, he established a home-building business in Dallas and served in the Texas State Legislature.

The Arlington Ladies

Established as the USAF Arlington Committee in 1948 by Gen. and Mrs. Hoyt S. Vandenberg and organized by the Air Force Officers' Wives' Club, The Arlington Ladies ensure no airman's funeral at Arlington National Cemetery goes unattended.



Mueliner presented an AFA Lifetime Achievement Award to retired Maj. Gen. Joe Engle, a former astronaut who flew in more than 185 different types of aircraft during his career.



Rep. Sam Johnson (R-Tex.) was presented with an AFA Lifetime Achievement Award. Johnson served in both Korea and Vietnam, receiving two Silver Medals and one Bronze Star Medal with Valor device.



Honored as a group with an AFA Lifetime Achievement Award was the "The Arlington Ladies," founded in 1948 by Gen. and Mrs. Hoyt Vandenberg and organized by the Air Force Officers' Wives' Club to assure that no airman's funeral at Arlington National Cemetery goes unattended.